DMCA Office (321) 452-0263


With its beginnings at the “Barn Theater” in 1964, Fr. Seán P. Molloy was named first pastor, and Divine Mercy Catholic Church became a recognized parish. That same year, Divine Mercy Catholic School opened its doors in a warehouse at the Merritt Island Airport with 185 students.

Throughout the next 35 years, expansion continued with the construction of our present church (1975), our school (1965), our dome/social hall (1967), the parish administration office, Mercy Center (East school building), and the rectory. In 1989 we remodeled the church, and added the computer lab, science lab, and faculty meeting room to our school. In 1994, our church was severely damaged by a fire, prompting the need for repairs.

From its humble beginnings, our parish has steadily grown into a vibrant Christian community honoring the traditions of the Catholic faith, and is a shining example of what parish life is all about. Divine Mercy Parish is fortunate to have always had dedicated priests, sisters, and parishioners who, through the stewardship of their varied talents, skills, and abilities have built a vibrant community of faith, love, hope, gratitude, and devotion.

Our special focus on the children of Divine Mercy Parish, through Divine Mercy Catholic Academy, our religious education, and our youth programs, helps ensure that the leadership of the future will be founded in the spiritual values of our faith and tradition.

In 2002-2003, our Pastor Fr. Farrell, parish leaders, and committees, in consultation with architects and expert counsel, developed the first phase of a comprehensive site plan for our campus that will be implemented over the next 15 years.

The first priority identified was to renovate our church, school, and dome. Church remodeling, completed in 2004, included renovations to our visual environment specifically benefiting our prayer, worship, and sacramental celebrations; and repair of critical elements to the building infrastructure. During this time the interior of the dome was also remodeled.

Fr. Farrell retired in 2014, and Fr. Matt Mello took the helm as Pastor. Under Fr. Mello’s leadership, the second priority plans will be implemented. The second priority plans include replacing the old school building (Hartnett Hall) with a new two-story building that will provide meeting facilities for our on-going sacramental and outreach programs, educational classes, and improved music and computer facilities; and addressing our current parking conditions to better accommodate our parishioners.

We continue to review our present and future growth, and we recognize the fundamental need to change our campus structure. We will continue to grow as new families join our parish. It is now our opportunity to shoulder a share of the responsibility of providing for the future of Divine Mercy Parish.

DMCC Clergy 1964 – Present


Seán P. Molloy, 1964-1978
Patrick J. O’Carroll, 1978-1985
David Ferguson, 1985-1986
Edward J. McCarthy, 1987-1998
Michael A. Farrell, 1998-2014
Matthew G. Mello, 2014-

Associate Priests

Gregory McGillivary
James Waters
Cathal Quinn
John S. Murray
Gerard Granahan
Peter Quinn
Robert Morris
Patrick O’Doherty
Leo W. Frye
William Foley
William Neumann
Timothy W. Kandel
Steve Olds
Stephen Phillips
Joseph D. Bui
Kent A. Walker
Colen Kidd O.F.M
David I. Lewis

Sisters of Mercy

Colman Neylon
Breeda Murphy
Anne O’Sullivan
Mary Divilly
Conleth Concannon
Meta Reid
Marcellina Mills
Maura Bane
Teresa Hely
Mary Heavey
Irene Kavanagh
Vera Whelan
Margaret King
Clement Coffey
Sheila O’Sullivan
Mary Butler
Patricia Dooley
Loretta Wasko

Comments are closed.